The Covered Container

As a utilitarian potter I seem to make a lot of covered containers.  I really enjoy making them, yet I remember as a student they were the dreaded project.  (Just as they seem to be for my current students!)  They are definitely one of the more challenging forms.  I remember back to my Junior Pots class at Alfred with Val Cushing; he had us focus on making those lids become one with the form underneath it, and it’s his voice that I remember so often as I am fitting those lids.

Below are a few of my cremation urns drying for this weeks bisque.  These urns are approximately 12″ tall.  Along side these urns are my teeny, tiny covered salt cellars, about 2″ tall.  These are new little forms which I’m having some fun with.

4 thoughts on “The Covered Container

Leave a Reply

