One of my Sketches in Clay

When ever I make a new form it starts in the sketchbook, then goes to a “sketch in clay”.  This is especially true for making very large urns.  The first thing I’ll do is make a small prototype, with a lid or handle that is quickly pinched or rolled.  I may do this several times to see what type of handle/lid fits with the form.  I then make a another small more finished looking piece.  This piece will go through to the glaze firing.  At this point I can really see if the glaze I had in mind from my sketchbook drawing will work with the form.  It is here that I make my decision to go for the larger form, or to scrap the idea.   Here is one of the finished sketches.  I have decided to move forward with this idea, and to make a variation of it which you can see in the last post in the greenware stage. 

2 thoughts on “One of my Sketches in Clay

  1. What a great idea, Lucy! I don’t make a lot of large pottery because I haven’t had a lot of luck selling it, but this is an ideal way to try out an idea without committing yourself too much.

    BTW, I’ve been lurking here for a while–don’t think I’ve commented. If I lived closer, I’d love to take one of your workshops. Beautiful work.

    Blessings, Cindy

Leave a Reply

