The Creative Economy

More on the arts and the economy.

There is so much natural beauty here in Western Massachusetts, and so much happening in the arts.  But the biggest and most exciting happenings are right here in Greenfield!  Between the recent International Brick and Mortar Video Festival, to the huge state grant recieved for a performing arts center!  Greenfield Ma. is in the midst of a downtown revival, thanks in part to the many artists, and musicians that live in the valley.  

I recently read an article in Preview (the valley arts magazine) about Greenfield coming back to life.  In an interview with Ed Wierzbowski, artist and entrepreneur, and major player in the downtown revival, (restoring two central Main St. historic buildings).  Ed talks about the ripple effects of the creative economy.  He was quoted as saying for every dollar spent on the creative side, five more are spent locally.  I see how that happened here with my recent pottery workshop.  Money was spent at the B&B’s, restaurants, local shops, and farms!  

When I think about where I live, I think about the vibrancy of the arts and the beauty of this area known as Western Massachusetts.  I ask myself how do I want to see this place in five years?   Do I want a Wal-mart?  Or do I want to walk downtown and go to a great restaurant, a concert, an art opening, or a  movie?  Do I want to shop at the small locally run businesses,  or get on my bike to go buy apples from the local orchard, or maybe just take a walk and see the scenic views?   I think the answer is pretty clear… when you live in a special place that tourists come to all year round, (especially the Leaf Peepers this time of year), you should keep that a place that people want to see, taste, and feel with all their senses!

 

6 thoughts on “The Creative Economy

  1. So well put, Lucy & so important to take that how will it look if… perspective. It’s like so many things, what happens now does affect what happens later.

    Glad that for Greenfield artisans are such an important part of the creative (& entire) economy!

  2. “I ask myself how do I want to see this place in five years? Do I want a Wal-mart? Or do I want to walk downtown and go to a great restaurant, a concert, an art opening, or a movie?”

    I really appreciate your thinking here, Lucy. – it’s inspiring. I find myself thinking about how I want to invest in the qualities I value, not just in my work, but in the community around me. (Not that I’ve had my head in the sand the whole time, mind you!)

Leave a Reply

