Tiny Lidded Pots… Keepsakes

Have you ever tried making really tiny lidded pots?  It ain’t easy.  I remember when I was in high school, seeing a Ceramics Monthly magazine with an article about a woman who made teeny, tiny little pots for doll houses.  I couldn’t believe anyone could work that small, I still can’t.  The images of those pots just stick in my mind.  Well these pots of mine are not that small, but are tiny… approximately 2.5″. 

You would think, the smaller the pot, the easier it would be to make, and it should probably be very inexpensive.  I have been making these tiny keepsakes the past few months and have realized the effort and loss factor in trimming a pot and lid that is less than a 1/4 lb is very time-consuming! 

These little cuties are named Petite Keepsakes and are listed on my urns page of my website.  (I hope to get these new photos on the website soon).   These are made with the intention of  holding a precious memory, like a piece of jewelry, a poem, a love note, or storing a tiny bit of ashes from a loved one who has passed on.

 

10 thoughts on “Tiny Lidded Pots… Keepsakes

  1. These are sweet pots, Lucy! Somehow they have the yearning and earnestness to do the job they were made for.

    I’m as aware of a general prejudice against small work (vs. large scale) as I am of those against craft and “low art” vs. “high art”, or clay vs. bronze.

    Scale is just another formal consideration, yet it’s one that’s laden with content: does a small scale make it more intimate? Does it make it sentimental? Does it remove it from the usual realm of the maker’s mark found in most handmade pots (by being too small to leave the stray fingerprint or throwing ring?)

    Making something serious and small is a big idea. Thanks for sharing these.

  2. Kelly thanks for your comment! It seems whenever I write about cremation urns no one ever comments. I guess most people don’t want to deal with craft that pertains to death care.
    I like your questions. I never thought much about small work vs large scale, maybe because I am truly a functional potter. My concern is what works, and how form follows function!
    I think the small scale does make it more intimate, and sentimental. But your right about the marks, it is hard to leave my mark on it… no wide throwing lines, or wavy edges here… just to small!

    Thanks for your thoughts!

  3. small is beautiful. Love your jars.
    I’m doing a few miniature pieces for a barbecue firing and I have found they do take as much time as a larger piece.

  4. Lucy, I love my little pot that holds a few of Dad’s ashes. It’s discrete, it’s simple and it’s made from your heart! As you know, you brought tears to my eyes when I opened the thoughtfully wrapped package. I appreciate that as an artist you put the love and care you do into such a tiny piece of work that is intended for a very special purpose. Thanks again!

  5. The thing is, I could see wanting one for keepsakes from the living too. But i love that you’re getting some comment love on the sweet keepsake pots. Holding a memory. What could be a better use of ceramics?

Leave a Reply

