Fall, and the Cycles of Pottery

The first day of fall and our New England weather is changing.  The leaves are just starting to show the first hints of color, and the nights are getting so cold.  For me the fall changes are not only in the weather, or the kids back at school.  The cycles of my pottery take a speedy turn into the busy season.  In late August pots are being made for the holiday sales and shows.  By mid September I want to see  those pots made in August glazed and ready for the coming wholesale orders.  Pottery classes also began this week, three full classes, three nights a week.  Plans for the Spring Asparagus Valley Pottery Trail are already being made… the nine potters got our heads together yesterday for our up-coming 10th anniversary tour this April.

Aah, cycles… it seems the older I get these cycles that mark my year come sooner and sooner.  Here are some photos of what is being made , some drying on the sunny table, others fresh from the kiln, and ready to be shared with the world.  I must also include the lovely entrance to my studio, with the zinnias, and morning glories in all their glory on the arbor!

50 Bowls ready for the kiln salt cellars kitchen canisters Kitchen Canisters, and Salt Cellars 22 keepsake urns Salt Cellar Amber Brown Studio Entrance September September Studio Garden

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fall, and the Cycles of Pottery

  1. People often look at me like I’m crazy when I tell them I’m making pots for Christmas or getting ready for a holiday show when it’s still summer. Ah, the life of a potter.

Leave a Reply

