French Salt Boxes and Ceramic Wall Baskets

A French Salt box that hangs on the wall, with a hinged lid, made of ceramic… what am I nuts!

When I was on vacation this summer I saw a french salt box (metal) in an antique shop. I knew at that moment I had to try making one in ceramic.  After a little research and many attempts, I have a couple worth sharing.  This whole endeavor has been quite the challenge… but I need to be challenged with new forms, I’d go crazy if I were making just cups, bowls, plates and vases.  Give me some technical thing and I’m happy to see what I can do with it.

One of the reasons this salt box is challenging is because I work in porcelain.  I am dealing with warping of the body, sagging of the lid, then trying to get the holes for the hinged lid lined up after this warping and sagging.  I am no where near satisfied with the end result.  I like many aspects of the form, but I have not had one come out of the kiln 100%, working technically correct.  I have fired about six of them.  I have about three more to fire.  I will learn what I can from those, and make some others in my spare time… which is non-existent now with the all the holiday shows.

A bonus of working on this form is that it spurred on a couple of other nice forms , some wall baskets, and salt cellars with sit-in lids.  Creative mistakes really don’t exist… they just make you think more.

salt box with red dotssalt box with red dots open

Salt Box Drying

The top red dot one is almost there, just some slight warping on the lid.  The two above drying did not make it through the glaze firing… too much warping, so the lids did not fit.  Below are a couple of wall baskets that worked out very nicely.  More salt boxes to come soon, with the sit-in lids.

ceramic wall basketRed Dot Wall Basket

10 thoughts on “French Salt Boxes and Ceramic Wall Baskets

  1. Wow! These are great! And I love what you say about them and about the artist’s process. One of the reasons I love teaching so much is that it forces me to break outside of my routine and the usual suspects of the pots I make. Its great to find inspiration is odd and unexpected places! And its important to just challenge ourselves to simply see what happens when we try something. Not knowing is the greatest adventure!

  2. Pingback: A lesson in humility….. | CARTER GILLIES POTTERY

  3. What I love most about your post is the narrative where you point out the challenges and how you get past it. Life and craft is all about getting past challenges. I have a special needs son and we get past challenges each day together. Thanks for sharing the full story behind your post and I am rooting for you to get out a batch of great French salt boxes.

Leave a Reply

