Blindfolded Pottery

Put on the blindfolds, turn on the potters wheels… this is “Big Girl Pottery class” (as my students call it!)

Mind you, I do not do this every class, just once a year or so.  The blindfold class is to remind them the importance of listening to the clay.  In losing our sense of sight, our sense of touch becomes heightened.  It’s a real good reminder to focus only on the way that clay feels in our hands.

It’s also a lot of fun.  Plus with a bunch of middle-aged women I of course hear the comments… like, what is this 50 Shades of Clay?  Ooh, I wish Patrick Swayze were here… is that Unchained Melody I hear?

you're not really gonna make me throw blindfolded are youHere we go blindfolded potteryyes I can make a pot without lookingBlind Pots

5 thoughts on “Blindfolded Pottery

  1. Hi Lucy! I am also at the beginning of the beginning with pottery and I’ve also tried this once (well, I actually kept my eyes closed while trying to center clay, but I have to confess nothing good came out of that :). If I can’t center with my eyes open, I certainly can’t center with my eyes closed. These ladies rock! Oh my, ’50 shades of clay’ :)))

Leave a Reply

